The Systems Health Map is implemented in BVQ-Server starting Version 6.0.
It is available via the web interface of the BVQ-Server.
The SHM easily allows you to get an overview about your system landscape.
Your system landscape will be checked by alert rules. Predefined alert rules are included by default. Each alert rule can be enabled or disabled individually. In addition, alert rules can be configured by there thresholds or can be created independently.
One of the unique selling points of the alerting from BVQ is its complexity in a simple user interface.
You can create an alert rule for your systems by combining as much attributes and any of the collecting performance information you need.
Four colors are used for describing the current state of an alert rule:
- Green: The alert rule is in a normal state (OK).
- Blue: The alert rule is in an information state (INFO). An optimization can be applied.
- Orange: The alert rule is in a warning state (WARN). Check the description of the alert rule and try to solve the problem.
- Red: The alert rule is in an error range (ERROR). Check the description of the alert rule and try to solve the error.
A first overview is available directly after logging in to the BVQ-Server via web browser, in the main tab "Home".
After logging in to the BVQ Server, navigate to the main tab Alerting (1) and then to the sub tab Configuration (2).
You will be guided to the predefined alert rules. The Alert rules are categorized in two systems: by its platform (Storage, SAN & Compute) or Criticality (High, Medium, Low).
By default, all predefined alert rules are disabled.
Select a folder to get a list of all alert rules related to it. Each alert rule has a description (3) with more information and a suggested action in case it is violated.
Enable some (4) or all (5) alert rules from the selected folder.
Adjust the INFO/WARN/ERROR conditions if necessary. The default conditions are best practice recommendations.
Save the changes (6).
Once alert rules are enabled, they will be checked automatically and show up in the SHM.
Systems Healt Map overview
The SHM can be shown up as followed:
- In the main tab Home, the SHM is selected by mouse click
- Change to the tab Alerting and then to the sub tab Results
On the first overview, you get a grouping of the alert rules by components (1).
There are also the groupings: by category (2), by alerting rule (3) or all excluded objects (4).
Adjusting the timespan
The time interval that will be checked is selected in the upper right corner of the SHM.
Here you have the following options:
- an automatic adjustment of the time to every 5 minutes, comparable to a live-check of the alert rules (Autoplay)
- An explicit period of time that is being reviewed
Unfold sections in the SHM
After enabling the alert rules that fits to your environment, the SHM will be shown and is ready for your interactivity with it.
By simply clicking on an section or alert rule, the shown area will be changed.
By clicking into the center, you can drill up again.
You can also click on "<Back" (3), to go one selection back.
Display results from the SHM
Now, that you can set up and navigate within the SHM, we will take a look into the results from the SHM.
Select a single alert rule.
Now you can see the following information:
- Mouseover a alert rule, will give you a short summary of the results of the alert rule
- The partitioning of the results sorted by: OK (green), Info (blue), Warn (orange) and Error (red)
- Link to the detailed result of the alert rule
- Link to the configuration of the alert rule
- Mouseover to get the explanation of the alert rule and SUGGESTED ACTION
- List with all affected objects, there current level and the action buttons.
- The first button is a link to the affected object. Here, you will get detailed information and the history of the results of all alert rules that fits to it. The second action button is the exclude button. With it, you can exclude the Object from this single alert rule.
Manage alert rules
If you like to manage your alert rules, open up the configuration of the alert rule by choosing the tab Alerting (1) and then to the sub tab Configuration (2).
You will see a short instruction to our predefined alert rules.
Here you will start at the Predefined rules (3). In addition to the Predefined rules, there are the tabs: Custom rules (4) and Categories (5).
In the Predefined rules, you can enabled or disable alert rules (6), customize the threshold for the different alert levels (7) or select a notification type (8).
This notification must be configured before, see: Enable notifications.
All alert rules are sorted by categories. In the predefined alert rules, top categories are the platforms (Storage, SAN & Compute) or the Criticality.
If you want to add additional alert rules, you can create your own categories and alert rules.
Therefor, you have to switch to the Custom rules-tab (1).
Here you can create alert rules (2) or you can import alert rules (3).
There is a build-in category: Alert rules.
Create alert rule
If non of our predefined alter rules cover your monitoring needs, you can create a specific alert rule in a chosen category.
Manage custom rules
After creating a custom rules, you get additional functions to work with the alert rules.
These are available by selecting the custom alert rules under:
Alerting (1) → Configuration (2) → Custom rules (3)-tab → The category, where the custom alert rule is located (4)
Select the custom alert rule you like to manage and at the right half of the page you will get the management tools (5). These are the overview of the results of the alert rule (6), edit the alert rule (7), clone it (8), export the alert rule to a .json-file (9) and delete the alert rule (10).
Furthermore you will see the summary (11) of the selected alert rule.
Delete a custom alert rule
If you don't need an custom alert rule anymore and like to delete it, we keep it simple:
Log in to the BVQ-Server. Switch to the Alerting (1) → Configuration (2) → Custom rules (3)-tab.
Here you have to open the category (4), where the alert rule is located, you are going to delete.
Select the alert rule (5), to get the summary shown.
In the summary, you can use delete-button (6).
Confirm the pop-up to delete the alert rule (7).